Since being diagnosed with celiac disease in 2016, I have been living a gluten free lifestyle. This can be incredibly difficult as gluten hides in all kinds of things that you wouldn’t think of. I wanted to share my top 6 foods that I was surprised to find out that I can no longer eat.
Imitation Crab Meat
Better known as Krab, this is the most common fish in California rolls, something I really enjoy. Recently a few big brands have stopped adding it but many sushi joints and store brands still use wheat to bind the fish and so unless I am ordering real crab, I shy away from all California roll based sushi.
Oats are gluten free but the process of making oatmeal involves flour. Flour is used in the factories to cut the oats and so unless I want to pay through the nose for certified gluten free oatmeal, this is one hot breakfast (or cookie!) I can no longer safely enjoy.
Fast Food French Fries
Do you want to know why McDonald’s fries are so good? The oil they are fried in is flavored with a beef enzyme that you guessed it, contains gluten. Many fast food joints do this. And while some do not, they use the same fryer to fry their breaded chicken, contaminating the oil and making it a no-go. Chick-fil-a and Red Robin have a dedicated, 100% peanut oil fry fryer so not all hope is lost on the French fry front.
Last Halloween I did what every good parent does, you slowly sneak away candy from your kid’s baskets to make it disappear quicker. A kid loser and Mom favorite was Twizzlers. Until after a week of feeling crappy, I finally googled “Halloween candy plus gluten” and discovered Twizzlers as the offender. Also guilty were gummy bears. So long Haribo.
If you love Chinese food, get ready to feel sad for me because soy sauce contains gluten. And soy sauce is in EVERYTHING at a Chinese restaurant. I get it, it’s delicious. It is also fermented with wheat and so unless we drive all the way across town for P.F. Changs, I can never again eat restaurant-style beef and broccoli. Luckily, gluten free soy sauce or tamari sauce is easy to find so making recipes at home is not too hard.
Rice Krispies. It’s in the name. Rice. I was once halfway through making rice krispy treats when I thought I better check the ingredients just in case. Do you know what gives them their yummy flavor? Malted barley AKA gluten. Any cereal with malt in it is hands off and it is a lot because malt doesn’t make moms freak out like sugar. Unfortunately malt make my guts freak out and so now I stick to Lucky Charms for my marshmallow treats because Lucky Charms are a naturally gluten free cereal.
So, there are my 6 surprising foods that contain gluten. Six tasty foods I will never again eat until they invent a cure for celiac disease (not likely but oh well). Now, I didn’t share this with you for the pity party, I just wanted to share them with you in case you have someone in your life you cannot eat gluten so you can be mindful of their food choices.
What about you? Have you ever discovered a surprising ingredient in a food?